Student Resources

W. Price Jr. Memorial Scholarship

Each year the Texas Restaurant Association awards the W. Price Jr. Memorial scholarship to students with a growing passion for the foodservice industry. The scholarship is named for W. Price Jr., the first executive director of the Texas Restaurant Association who served from 1953 until 1974.

  • Two scholarships for $5000 are awarded to students attending a four-year university or a culinary college.
  • Two scholarships for $2000 are awarded to students attending a two-year college.

RULES: Applicants must be a resident of the state of Texas (but can attend an out-of-state school), be enrolled in any degreed foodservice or hospitality program, be a registered full-time student (12 hours or more) with at least three hours per semester devoted to foodservice or hospitality management and have an overall GPA of 2.75 and a major GPA of 3.5. Previous winners are not eligible for a second award, college seniors in their last semester are not eligible and scholarships are not paid for summer semesters.

The application deadline of February 1, 2012 has passed.

Winners will be announced April 1, 2012. Please check back late summer for the 2013 information.

Questions? Call 800-395-2872 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

Certification of Achievement Post-secondary Schools offering Hospitality/Restaurant Management or Culinary Degrees 

Career Ladder